Alyssa Robinson
 
    Liz and I conducted our first interview this past week.  I interviewed Liz on what it’s like living with her food allergy.  This was my first time ever interviewing somebody, and it was harder than I expected it to be.  I had talked to Liz about her food allergy prior to the interview while coming up with interview questions.  This was probably a mistake because it made the interview less spontaneous.  I had already heard about much of her illness beforehand, so it felt like we were forcing conversation a bit.  I did however get some good stories from Liz about experiences she went through with her food allergy.   I was able to get a better understanding of what it’s like to live with a food allergy.  Someone that does not have one does not really understand the huge impact it has on one’s life.  It was eye-opening to talk to someone that lives with one.  

    Throughout the interview I felt as though I was relying on the set of questions I had typed up a bit too much.  The conversation ended up being somewhat choppy when I had to look at my paper to see what questions I would try to ask next.  I found myself feeling very self-conscious with the camera pointing at me as well.  Overall I think I was able to get some useful information from the interview and I was able to get a better sense of what it’s like to live with a food allergy.




Leave a Reply.